Abbie Loves:  ‘Your Baby, Week by Week’ book by Simone Cave and Dr. Caroline Fertleman, rrp £9.00  

your  baby week by week

Sorry for the silence. We’ve all gone down with the lurgy in the Dando household and the days have just rolled into one recently. Poor little Jack has a virus, which means no sleep for Mummy and Daddy. Pete and I also caught the lurgy a few days after, so no sleep, a poorly baby and a poorly Mummy and Daddy equals = living in Zombie land!

I do however keep meaning to write a review on the only book I’ve thoroughly enjoyed throughout motherhood and truly found helpful – ‘Your Baby, Week by Week’. I really should have told you all about it earlier, but as lots of you mummies know baby-brain is a real thing and it just completely slipped my mind.

The book was given to me by my sister-in-law when Jack was born. I clearly remember her saying: “I love the book. The only problem is it stops at six months. It’s as if they think when you get to six months you know what to do.” I can confirm, you don’t! But despite the book only going up to 24 weeks, for the first six months of Jack’s life it really has been my bible.

So here it is, here are THE ESSENTIALS

What: Your Baby, Week by Week’ book by Simone Cave and Dr. Caroline Fertleman. It’s exactly what it says on the tin – it tells you what to expect from your baby every single week covering feeding, sleeping, development and play. It starts from week 0. So as soon as you have left that hospital with your beautiful baby, it literally becomes your bible!

Cost?: I obviously didn’t buy mine so cannot confirm for definite, but googling around it retails for roughly £9. Amazon has it for a very odd number, £9.09.

The good points: The problem with lots of other books I have tried to read is they’re too wordy, lengthy and take good brain power to get through, and with a newborn, you definitely don’t have the time or the energy to do so. What’s amazing about this book is you can read it in bite size chunks each week. I used to pick it up every Sunday night – Jack was born on a Sunday evening, well the early hours of Monday morning – and read what to expect that next week. I would sometimes get excited and flick ahead through the pages too. But what’s amazing is you really can read it week by week and each week only covers about four pages, but tells you in depth what to expect from feeding, sleeping, development and play.

It’s written in a nice tone too where you realise you can take everything they say as guidance, rather than verbatim. Saying that, I did do everything by this book! Well, up until Jack was about five months I guess. I think you then start winging it as you realise what works for you, works for you.

The not so good points: Exactly what my sister-in-law said – it only takes you up to week 24. It would be amazing if it covered the entire year. But perhaps they realise, like me, you stop reading it week by week when your baby hits about five months.

Like what you hear? As mentioned earlier you can find the book on Amazon for £9.09. But do google it as you may be able to find it somewhere else for slightly cheaper.

So if you’re still adding to your Christmas list, I’d totally recommend putting the book on your list if you’re a new mum. A true godsend, and delightful read!

Love me xxx

Leave a Reply

