Our 4D experience

 

baby dando 4d scan

I’ll keep this one short.

I felt I had recently been posting ‘nice’ looking pictures that didn’t really give you any real-life picture insight into me, Pete (my husband), and our little boy who is on the way. So here you go – some 4D pictures of baby Dando that were taken at 32 weeks.

At the start of my pregnancy if someone said to me: “Ooh will you have one of those 4D scans?”

My instant answer was, “Oh no. A waste of money and a bit weird.”

So at 32 weeks I was eating my words as I strolled into the Baby Bond concession at the back of the Mothercare near me.

Why did I change my mind? I hadn’t seen our baby since the 20 week scan. Even though midwives and doctors were telling me all was ok post 20 week scan, I didn’t understand how they could tell without looking at him (I know they know what they’re doing, but I’m a first time mum, I need evidence!). We found out we were having a boy and I really wanted to make sure he WAS a boy so I could confidently prepare the nursery (I know, I know…I’m blaming it on the nesting instinct). And, my husband was actually pretty keen.

If you knew my husband, then he’s very good with looking after our money and will often not pay out for anything that’s not really ‘needed’. So for him to be keen and agree to put our hard-earned money towards the scan helped make the much decision easier – if cash-conscious Pete says yes, then don’t question it!

Anyway, after googling 4D scans, I came across Baby Bond who offered a Bonding Scan for women 24 – 32 weeks pregnant from £119. They had a concession at the Mothercare only five minutes from my home and booking it was as simple as filling a form in online. Before we knew it, we were on our way.

What I will say is (and even Pete will say), it was worth every penny. The scan took place in a lovely, calming, private room by a very friendly, trained sonographer. She was great at offering reassurance, telling us growth information about our baby, and making sure we got clear pictures to take away.

I can see why they call it a bonding scan, as we totally bonded. Almost one hour spent watching our baby open and close his eyes, stick out his tongue, turn his head, grab the umbilical cord…amazing. We were smitten.

I’m afraid I am now an advocate, so if you’re thinking about it. Do it!

You can find out more information about Baby Bond here http://www.ultrasound-direct.com/babybond-pregnancy-scans , but there are other companies out there too that offer the same service.

 

Love me and baby Dando xxx (just over 4 weeks to go!)

Leave a Reply

